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NOTICE OF STATE RULEMAKING 
 
PUBLIC INPUT FOR RULES A list of state agency rule proposals is published here each 
Wednesday. You can get a copy of a proposed rule by contacting the person listed in the 
notice. You can comment on a proposed rule by submitting a written comment to the agency or 
by attending the public hearing, if one is scheduled. If no hearing is scheduled, you can request 
one.  The agency must hold a hearing if it receives 5 or more requests.  If you have a disability 
and need assistance to participate in a hearing you should tell the agency at least 7 days before 
the hearing. ONLINE INFORMATION Weekly notices, full text of adopted rules, and a list of 
agency rulemaking contacts are available at this website: 
https://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/index.html  
 

PROPOSALS 

 
AGENCY:  02-041, Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 10, Establishment of License Fees (amend) 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER (FORMERLY “PROPOSED RULE NUMBER”): 
2024-P315  
BRIEF SUMMARY: 
 
The Director of the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation is responsible for 
the financial management of the state licensing boards and programs it administers.   Licensing 
boards and programs must pay the total costs of their regulatory programs from license fees 
paid by licensees.   The fiscal health of licensing boards is monitored continuously to avoid 
projected budget deficits.   
 
Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors:  A review of the financial status of the State Board of 
Alcohol and Drug Counselors shows that fee increases are necessary to avoid a projected budget 
deficit.  It is critical to ensure the Board can continue protecting Maine citizens' health and safety 
through its regulatory program.  The Director of the Office is authorized by statute at 10 MRS 
sec. 8003(2-A) (D) to establish fees by rule, subject to any fee cap applicable to each regulatory 
board or program.  License fees established by the Director must consider the costs, statutory 
requirements, enforcement requirements, and expenses of each board, commission, or 
regulatory function.  Reasonable fee increases that are well within the statutory fee cap are 
included in this rulemaking initiative. 
 
Board of Pharmacy:  In PL 2023 c. 115 (LD 351), the Maine Legislature authorized the Board to 
charge a fee to issue a Certificate of Authorization to a pharmacist authorizing them to prescribe, 
dispense, and administer contraceptives pursuant to c. 115.  A reasonable fee for a certificate of 
authorization is included in this rulemaking initiative.    
 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.maine.gov%2Fsos%2Fcec%2Frules%2Findex.html&data=05%7C02%7CJ.Chris.Parr%40maine.gov%7C645b27059f0346864d7008dc94834bf0%7C413fa8ab207d4b629bcdea1a8f2f864e%7C0%7C0%7C638548538834447354%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=K93i9Iukz%2F4M1hnG1XnmVSNiEpRD2zB99vb6RheIZ8A%3D&reserved=0
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PUBLIC HEARING (if any): None scheduled 
COMMENT DEADLINE: February 14, 2025, 5:00 pm. 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING:  Kristina Halvorsen, 35 State House Station, 
Augusta, ME  04333; (207) 624-8420; Kristina.m.halvorsen@maine.gov 
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): 
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE:  10 MRS sec. 8003(2-A)(D) 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): 
AGENCY WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/ 
EMAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULEMAKING LIAISON: Joan.cohen@maine.gov 
 

 
AGENCY: 13-188-Department of Marine Resources  
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  Chapter 32, Eel Regulations, Elver Quota System for the 
2025 Season  
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-P001 
BRIEF SUMMARY: This proposed rulemaking establishes the elver quota allocations for 
the 2025 season for individuals licensed under §§6505-A and 6302-A, and the method of 
calculating individual elver quota allocations for individuals licensed under §6505-A. The 
quota for the Passamaquoddy Tribe has been adjusted in accordance with their overage in 
the 2024 season. 2025 allocations for individuals who held a license in 2024 will be the same 
as their 2024 allocations, plus any quota associated with licenses not renewed in 2024, or 
licenses suspended for the duration of the 2024 season, which will be distributed evenly to 
all existing license holders. In addition, a technical change is made in the language of 
Chapter 32.03, Section 2A for consistency with statute. Eel pots may not be used for the 
personal take of up to 25 eels per day from coastal waters.  
PUBLIC HEARING (if any): None scheduled    
COMMENT DEADLINE: February 14, 2025.  
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: 
NAME: Deirdre Gilbert 
MAILING ADDRESS: 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0021 
E-MAIL: dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov 
TELEPHONE: 207-624-6553 
FAX: 207-624-6024 
TTY: 207-624-6500 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing) 
Hearing facilities: If you require accommodations due to disability, please contact 207-624-
6553.  
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): Same  
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): None 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 12 M.R.S. §6505-A; §6171 

SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): Same 
AGENCY WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/ 

mailto:Kristina.m.halvorsen@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/
mailto:Joan.cohen@maine.gov
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E-MAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULE-MAKING LIAISON: 
dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov  
 

 
AGENCY: 16-163 Emergency Medical Services Board (Maine EMS) 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 27, Implementation of EMS Sustainability 
Program  
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical  
PROPOSAL TRACKING NUMBER (FORMERLY “PROPOSED RULE NUMBER”): 
2024-P253 
BRIEF SUMMARY: The Emergency Medical Services Board is proposing a new rule to 
implement the sustainability program created by P.L. 2023, c. 412, Pt. GGGGG, §1, setting 
forth the application, allocation, and award process for $19,308,000.00, allocating funds to 
entities eligible under the rule including Transporting Ambulance Services, Non-
transporting Ambulance Services, business entities designated as Regional Councils, and 
Maine EMS-authorized Training Centers. 
PUBLIC HEARING (if any): None. A hearing may be requested by the petition of no less 
than five (5) interested persons through the submission of such petition in writing to Maine 
EMS, ATTN: Rulemaking, 152 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0152. 
COMMENT DEADLINE:  
First Comment Period - The comment deadline has been extended from September 21, 
2024, to October 15, 2024. Comments may be submitted to Maine EMS no later than 11:59 
P.M. on October 15th, 2024.  
Second Comment period - The deadline for public comments is February 14, 2025. 
Comments may be submitted to Maine EMS no later than 11:59 P.M. on February 14, 2025.  
Comments on the proposed rule may be submitted to Maine EMS no later than 11:59 P.M. 
on February 14, 2025. Interested parties may submit comments to Maine EMS in the 
following manner(s): 
 
1. Navigating to https://www.maine.gov/ems and filling out our “Maine EMS Rules 
Public Comment Submission” form (Preferred) 
2. By email to: rulemaking.maineems@maine.gov 
3. In writing: Address comments to Maine Emergency Medical Services, ATTN: 
Rulemaking, 152 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0152. 
 
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: 
Jason J. Cooney;  
152 State House Station,  
Augusta, ME 04333-0152;  
207-626-3864 – Phone;  
207-287-3659 – TTY;  
207-287-6251 – Fax;  
jason.j.cooney@maine.gov 

https://www.maine.gov/ems
mailto:rulemaking.maineems@maine.gov
mailto:jason.j.cooney@maine.gov


State of Maine: Notice of Agency Rulemaking:   Wednesday, January 15, 2025  ONLINE 
 

  Page 4 of 7  
 

 

CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT (if different): 
Contact Person is the Same. 
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES (if any): Maine EMS 
does not anticipate any costs to Municipalities or Counties for compliance with the 
rule. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 32 M.R.S. § 84(1)(A), 32 M.R.S. § 98(4). 
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different): None 
AGENCY WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/ems/  
EMAIL FOR OVERALL AGENCY RULEMAKING LIAISON: jason.j.cooney@maine.gov  
 

ADOPTIONS 

 
AGENCY: 65-407 Maine Public Utilities Commission 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 320 Electric Transmission and Distribution 
Utility Service Standards 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-006 
         
CONCISE SUMMARY: 
 
Chapter 320 establishes service standards for electric transmission and distribution utilities. 
The Commission amends and adopts Chapter 320 to add a new customer service metric, a field 
service metric, to section 7, with which transmission and distribution utilities will be required 
to comply, effective no sooner than January 1, 2025.  The amendments to section 10 reporting 
requirements will clarify how the utilities file required reports and how the Commission will 
review them.  The amendments also include non-substantive changes for consistency and 
clarity.  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Tuesday, January 14, 2025 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Pam Kowalchuk, pamela.kowalchuk@maine.gov 

AGENCY NAME: Public Utilities Commission 
ADDRESS: 18 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0018 
TELEPHONE: 207-287-1564 
 
 
AGENCY: 01-669 Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation & Forestry, Maine Forest 
Service 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 27, Standards for Timber Harvesting and 
Timber Harvesting Related Activities Within Unorganized and Deorganized Areas of The 
State 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-002 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY: 
 

https://www.maine.gov/ems/
mailto:jason.j.cooney@maine.gov
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Maine Forest Service rule Chapter 27, Standards for Timber Harvesting and Timber Harvesting 
Related Activities Within Unorganized and Deorganized Areas of The State, is being amended 
to be consistent with Maine Forest Service rule Chapter 21, Statewide Standards for Timber 
Harvesting and Related Activities in Shoreland Areas. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Not Applicable (this is a major substantive rule that has been 
provisionally adopted, not finally adopted). 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:   Shannon Ayotte 
AGENCY NAME:      Dept. of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry 
ADDRESS:       22 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333 
TELEPHONE:      207-287-5976 
 
 
AGENCY: 10-144 Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Family 
Independence  
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 331, Public Assistance Manual Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Manual, Chapter V, TANF Rule #122A – Mileage 
Reimbursement Update  
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-003 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY:  
 
The adopted rule updates Chapter V – B, TRANSITIONAL TRANSPORTATION (TT) 
consistent with the rate afforded to those covered under the Maine Service Employees 
Association (MSEA) contract. The adopted rule refers readers to the MSEA rate found at 
https://www.maine.gov/osc/travel/mileage-other-info.   
 
The adopted rule updates Chapter V – B(4)(b) to:  
 
“Effective January 1, 2025 mileage is reimbursed consistent with the State of Maine mileage 
reimbursement rate set by the Department of Administrative and Financial Services Office of 
the State Controller found at https://www.maine.gov/osc/travel/mileage-other-info .”  
 
(B)(4)(c) is updated to “TT mileage reimbursement shall not exceed $20 per day.”  
Retroactive rulemaking is permissible under 22 M.R.S. § 42(8)(C) as this update provides a 
benefit to TANF recipients as the adopted rule change raises the mileage reimbursement rate 
from .46 cents to .54 cents and from .56 cents to .64 cents for individuals with disabilities.  
See https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking for rules and related rulemaking 
documents.  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Monday, January 13, 2025  
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:  
Alexandria Lauritzen, TANF Program Manager  
Office for Family Independence  
Department of Health & Human Services  
109 Capitol Street  
Augusta, ME 04333  
Phone: (207) 215-7496/ Fax: (207) 287-3455  
TT Users Call Maine Relay – 711  
Alexandria.Lauritzen@maine.gov   

https://www.maine.gov/osc/travel/mileage-other-info
mailto:Alexandria.Lauritzen@maine.gov
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AGENCY: 05-071 Department of Education  
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 132, Learning Results: Parameters for Essential 
Instruction 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-004 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY: 
 
This rule revision is part of a periodic review of the Maine Learning Results as required under 
6209, subsection 4. The science and social studies standards were last reviewed and revised in 
2018.   
 
The rulemaking process began in the summer of 2023 with the science and social studies 
standards steering committees, which are composed of content area experts who represent the 
cultural diversity found in Maine and a range of viewpoints as to the content of the standards. 
These groups met and reviewed all the comments submitted and developed a blueprint for the 
revision of the state science and social studies standards. Following that process, groups of 
writing teams, representing prek-12 teachers, met and revised the current standards.  
 
The proposed social studies standards incorporate the requirements outlined in Public Law 
2021, Chapter 247 which stipulate that instruction in American history, African American 
studies, government, citizenship, Maine studies, and the history of genocide must be aligned 
with the parameters for essential instruction and graduation requirements established under 
Title 20-A, §6209. A required component of Maine studies is Maine Native American studies 
and Maine African American studies.  
 
During the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature, the Education and Cultural 
Affairs Committee declined to authorize the proposed social studies content standards of the 
Maine Learning Results. The Education and Cultural Affairs committee directed the 
Department to reengage in the rulemaking process for the social studies standards. To this end, 
the Department reopened the steering committee and writing team conversations for the social 
studies standards. On May 3, the Maine Department of Education convened the Steering 
Committee to begin the revision process for the state’s social studies standards. This committee 
was composed of various stakeholders from across Maine, including classroom teachers, 
district administrators, university faculty, and representatives from the Wabanaki 
nations. Given that the Education and Cultural Affairs Committee did not provide substantive 
feedback on the 2023 revision when asking the Department to restart the social studies 
standards review process, the 2024 Steering Committee determined that, because they did not 
know what specific issues members of the Committee on Education and Cultural Affairs 
wanted amended, they decided to support resubmitting the proposed 2023 Social Studies 
revised standards in the 132nd legislative session.  
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EFFECTIVE DATE: Not Applicable (this is a major substantive rule that has been 
provisionally adopted, not finally adopted). 
   
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Laura Cyr  
AGENCY NAME: Maine Department of Education  
ADDRESS: 23 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04330  
TELEPHONE: 207-446-8791  
 

 
AGENCY: 10-144 Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Licensing and 
Certification 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: 10-144 CMR Ch. 113, Assisted Housing Programs 
Licensing Rule 
ADOPTION TRACKING NUMBER: 2025-005 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY:  
 
This rulemaking repeals and replaces the current rule in force, 10-144 CMR Ch. 113, 
Regulations Governing the Licensing and Functioning of Assisted Housing Programs. The rule 
in force consists of ten parts, governing Assisted Living programs, four levels of Residential 
Care Facilities, four levels of Private Non-Medical Institutions, and Infection Prevention and 
Control. The proposed rule replaces those ten parts with two parts, Part A, Assisted Living 
Programs, and Part B, Residential Care Facilities. This simplified structure is designed to 
improve licensee understanding of and compliance with the rule and reflects revisions to 22 
MRS §7852 enacted by PL 2023 c. 176. The provisions of the proposed rule have been updated 
to reflect current best practices in assisted housing, and include additional documentation, 
staffing, and training requirements, among other things.  The Department has provisionally 
adopted this rule. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Not Applicable (this is a major substantive rule that has been 
provisionally adopted, not finally adopted). 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: 
NAME:      Jonathan Leach 
ADDRESS:      Division of Licensing and Certification 

11 SHS 
41 Anthony Ave. 
Augusta, ME 04330 

TELEPHONE:     (207) 287-5825  
E-MAIL ADDRESS:    Jonathan.h.leach@maine.gov  
 

 

mailto:Jonathan.h.leach@maine.gov

